Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6
Send Topic Print
Meet The Romantics! (Read 4679 times)
bookiesoriginal
Ex Member

Re: Meet The Romantics!
Reply #30 - May 29th, 2004 at 11:37pm

ok, some thoughts come to my mind while listening to these tracks:

why weren't the Romantics the "next" Beatles?

why did the original line-up have to change?

IP Logged

bookiesoriginal
Ex Member

Reply #31 - May 30th, 2004 at 11:58pm

Ok kids, here it is.  My long awaited review of “Meet the Romantics”.  Before I continue, let me offer a couple of disclaimers here:
I am not a musician, not musically inclined, not musically literate and probably more often than not, musically incorrect.  
I am however, a fan of the Romantics almost literally since day one.   I doubt that this review will be totally unbiased and without prejudice since it is my belief that the Romantics were one of the greatest bands to ever come along.
With that said, on to my review:
Tell It To Carrie—excellent choice as the first song on this cd.  This version is a little rawer (is that a word?) and edgier than the later “Carrie” that resurfaced on the first album.  I like this version, it places more emphasis on the back-up vocals which I always thought were a vital ingredient to their sound.
Runnin’ Away-ok, I must admit, this is one of my favorites on this cd.  The opening right away brought to mind a song by the Dovell’s called You Can’t Sit Down.  Oldfriend obviously recognized this connection or the band did because it follows Runnin’ Away on the live tracks.  Excellent song.
Let’s Swing-this is such a fun song.  I don’t know that I would completely call this in the Romantics genre.  It reminded me a lot of 50’ish music.
You Really Got a Hold of My Heart-well, what can I say about this one?  Jimmy Marinos on vocals I think speaks volumes.